January’s In the Spotlight: Jade Twilight


January 2010 Author In the Spotlight: Jade Twilight.

Well, we are now in a new year, and to kick off 2010, Jade Twilight will share her latest releases and some causes she supports.

K: Welcome author Jade Twilight to January’s author In the Spotlight! Thank you for being here, Jade. I hope you’re not in one of those areas getting more snow than anything else. I know we’ve had our fair share in the mountains.

JT: Oh, yeah we are. I live in Upstate New York so we get our fair share of snow this time of year. I don’t mind as long as I can snuggle up with a cup of tea and a warm fire and not have to go out in it. lol

K: One of the first things I noticed when I wandered around your website is that you’re a Shadow Forest Author. Would you care to elaborate on what that is?

JT: Shadow Forest Authors is a group that’s trying to get books and e-books out to people. Authors can donate a book or you can support an author by donating a book. It’s a great way to help get books into the hands of people who wouldn’t be able to get them otherwise.

K: Those who wouldn’t be able to get them otherwise? Do you mean people who don’t have net access or own computers?

JT: Not exactly there is a list of different charities you can donate to from children’s books to books for prisoners. Both print and electronic. Putting them where people who might otherwise not have any books can be able to read them.

K: I see you have a Literacy Site banner on your site. Is this a cause dear to your heart?

JT: Yes. I think authors should help promote reading and getting books into the hands of children.

K: So how does this organization do that?

JT: Basically you click the button and for every click the sponsors on the next page donate a certain amount of money that goes toward buying books for children in areas of the world that can’t afford them.

K: Your two most recent releases are Scarlet Myst and Sisters in Arms. Care to tell us about them?

JT: Scarlet Myst is about Erin, a stripper/assassin, who works for a company called the Scarlet Arms. She’s hired to kill a serial kidnapper, who’s been capturing the daughters of the upper class in the city. There’s an interesting twist at the end.

Sisters in Arms is the sequel to Mistress of Tiethla. Alex is now accompanied by Riley, another woman from her world. Together they have to stop the Mastive from regaining control.

K: Where did you come up with the title Scarlet Myst? Is it a theme in the book?

JT: Yes, it is a theme. Scarlet comes from the company the women who work for the Scarlet Arms, and then there’s the name of the main character.

K: I love the colors used in the Scarlet Myst cover, and Sisters in Arms is very pretty and promotes the beauty of a woman’s body.

JT: Thank you. I designed the cover for Scarlet Myst. Sisters in Arms was done by the very talented Renee Rocco. I really like the way they both turned out, and you’re right they do promote the beauty of a woman’s body.

K: As an author, do you feel a cover must be a certain way to help promote the book? And do you feel a poorly made cover can hurt a book’s sales?

JT: I think that a good cover can certainly help sales, but I also think that an author can overcome a bad cover with a good marketing plan. While the cover is a big part of what draws a reader in, I think a bigger part is the blurb and possibly the excerpt. If they can catch the reader’s attention then they can overcome a bad cover.

K: So what’s the Snow White theme about in Scarlet Myst?

JT: Since Erin is a stripper, at one part of the story she’s dress as Snow White for a client.

K: In Sister’s in Arms, Rayne is a dragon companion. Are these pets or mascots of some sort, or are they people in disguise?

JT: I guess they’re like pets, but more. Rayne actually played a bigger role in Mistress of Tiethla than he does in Sisters in Arms. In Mistress of Tiethla, Rayne was Alex’s constant companion, throughout most of the book. So I think companion or friend might be a better word for Rayne than pet, since he’s really with Alex by choice and stays with her because he wants to. 

K: Have you ever thought of writing a book based on these “companions”?

JT: No I haven’t.

K: Where do you see career by 2011?

JT: I have no idea. Currently I’m just playing it by ear, seeing where my muse takes me. <G>

K: In today’s publishing scene, some authors are quite content to stick with e-books. Some want to go farther such as writing movie scripts or even becoming an author with a huge publisher in the NYC hub. What is your dream goal as a writer, Jade?

JT: I’m happy where I am, I don’t see myself writing scripts or for a NYC house. I guess my dream is to just see one of my books in print. To be able to hold just one of my books in my hands, I’d have reached my dream as a writer.

K: Thanks for being here, Jade. Do you have any advice or tips you’d like to share with aspiring writers who might read this?

JT: Just keep at it, if you give up you’ll never get anywhere.

To learn more about Jade Twilight’s work, visit http://jadetwilight.webs.com or click the book covers above to visit the titles’ purchase pages. 

 ~~~~~~~~~~

November’s In the Spotlight with Shiela Stewart, go here.

December’s In the Spotlight with Selene Noreen, go here.

One Response to “January’s In the Spotlight: Jade Twilight”

  1. […] in the Limelight Tess MacKall, go here. January 2010 Author in the Limelight Jade Twilight, go here. November’s Author in the Limelight Shiela Stewart, go here. December’s Author in the […]

Leave a Reply

