Like a Lightning Bolt


Hm.. Pictures, Images and Photos

Have you ever had an item in your house that you just couldn’t toss but eventually it found a really cool use?

Sometimes writers have stories that are like that. I’ve had some I’ve started that took a few weeks or months before the plots came together in my mind, and I’ve had some tales I really couldn’t market anywhere, then came up with an idea that changed it enough I could place it.

Once upon a time, I had the first few pages of a story sitting on a cd for years. Truly, it just sat for years! But I could not bring myself to scrap it. I kept thinking I’d have a scene that would arise in a different story and those orphan pages would find a use. It never happened, though, and I kept hanging on to the first pages of this going-nowhere tale.

One day, as I was finishing up Blue Moon to submit to Breathless Press’s call for werewolf stories, I decided to comb through my idea folder where I keep bits and pieces of stories, ideas, characters, other things. There, once again, was the horror story I’d started. It even had a horribly inadequate title.

I clicked on it and started reading those pages. When I finished, I looked at my husband, who was sitting next to me on the patio, and said, “I just finished reading the start of a story I’ve never been able to proceed with for whatever reason, and you know what? It’s really good”

“So finish it,” he replied.

“I am because somehow the idea to finish it just suddenly hit me like a bolt of lightning.”

I closed Blue Moon’s file and scrolled through the orphaned story to where I’d stopped. I began typing and typed for about two hours. The next day I sat down on the patio and worked on it some more, and by the end of the week, I had the rough draft to an erotic paranormal/fantasy romance novella with a sci-fi slant.

That orphaned tale became Lady of the Lair, book one of the Alter-Human Series.

The characters swept me away. Alter-Humans are a step or two or three (lol) up on the evolutionary ladder. They’ve evolved into people with supernatural abilities, but in their evolution, they’ve been forced to live below the earth because normal humans fear them. They look like us while amongst us, but in their cavernous world, they wear their true humanoid forms. Creating the Alter-Human world was one of the most entertaining things I’ve done in a long time as a writer.

Dillon, the alpha hero, is smitten with Isis, who isn’t what she seems, but he just can’t help himself. His love for her drives him to throw caution to the wind and therefore he pays a hefty price. As I wrote about his feelings, I thought a lot about how love can truly be all consuming and make us do things we’d never imagine doing.

Isis is an interesting heroine, because not only does she fall in love with Dillon, she’s also driven by instinct, and instinct is something we can’t control. Mix overwhelming love with instinct, and I found myself creating a heroine who is a time bomb of emotion and sexuality. She’ll do anything to protect her men and her offspring.

And then there’s Rory, Isis’ primer mate. He’s laid back, easy going, but highly protective. However, he falls for Dillon, too, and he waits patiently for Dillon to realize his feelings reach farther than just to Isis. Rory is gentle, but fierce. He’s easy going, but intense.

Book two will show them as they try to live, love, and avoid the faux Lady of the Lair’s wicked deeds that will rip them apart and destroy their lives. The surprises in book one, lead to more surprises in book two, and I soooooo look forward to the actual writing process of book two. One way or another, Dillon, Isis, and Rory must defeat the wicked Lady of the Lair!

Maybe it took so long for Lady of the Lair to come together in my mind because it wasn’t time for it to be a story yet. Who knows? But the book was contracted within two weeks of submitting it, and it has been a joy watching it grow and awaiting its official release day.

Oh, and word of warning to gentle readers. If you buy this book, it’s full of very, very intense sexual content, which includes het, menage, and m/m scenes. Siren Publishing has listed my title as sextreme.

If you’re a writer with many orphans hanging out on various places of storage, or even if you’re not a writer, somehow, someway, those special orphans always find a use and even a home.

Writers, share with me and my readers your tales about your orphaned stories and pieces of stories. We’d love to hear them!

Non-writers, do you have a cool story to share about a piece of furniture, jewelry, or item of clothing that you couldn’t give up but it eventually found a wonderful use?

4 Responses to “Like a Lightning Bolt”

  1. Sounds like a pretty intense read you have there. It’s funny this topic came up because I was writing a book that is taking forever when I looked back on a VERY rough copy of something I wrote long before I became published.
    Needless to say, it is now on the front burner and I’m loving how it is coming together.
    Writers quite often curse their wayward muse, but every now and then they surprise us with something like this.

    I wish you a ton of sales. I think I need to read this one.

    • kbhotromances Says:

      Hi, Adelle. Thanks for stopping in.

      Yes, I often yell and scream at my muse, too, but it seems as though our muses always know best in the end. lol

  2. Welcome to Siren! Your concepts/books/stories sound amazing! I’m a huge sci fi fan!

    • kbhotromances Says:

      Thanks Julia! I’ve truly enjoyed my experience at Siren Publishing so far! I hope to have many more books accepted there too.

Leave a Reply

